Governor Masari of APC Re-elected for Second Term in Katsina

Katsina State All Progressives Congress (APC) governorship candidate, Aminu Bello Masari, has won the governorship election held on Saturday.

According to The Guardian: Masari, is also the incumbent state governor, polled 1,178,864 votes to emerge as the winner of the exercise.

The INEC Returning Officer, Professor Abdullahi Zuru, who announced this, said Masari who contested on the platform of the APC, polled a total of 1, 178, 864 votes to defeat his closest rival, Garba Yakubu Ladol of the PDP who polled a total of 488, 621 votes.

From the official results declared in all the 34 local government areas in the state, Masari won in all local councils of the state and defeated Danmarke with a margin of 690,234 votes.

Masari is the third democratically elected governor in the state since 1999.

The late Umaru Musa Yar’Adua and Ibrahim Shehu Shema, both of whom had served two terms in office, were his predecessors.

Born May 29, 1950, Masari is the first since 1999, to govern the state on a platform other than the PDP.

He is also the first to emerge from the southern part of the state as governor as both his predecessors came from Katsina Central.

About Falade Benjamine 2649 Articles
Ben is an editor and a professional graphic designer at Ogene247.com. He specializes in developing Information on Politics, Business, Entertainment Gossips and Sport. You can Contact him on olaben@ogene247.com

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.